An update on my progress

All photos above are my own, taken at Monk’s House

As you know, my aim in writing this blog was to learn about, and share ‘all things Virginia’. Here is an update on my progress to mark the end of 2015 and the start of 2016.

Well, over the last four months, I have learned a lot about Virginia and where she lived, and with whom. I have learned about what she wrote, where she wrote, how she felt, and about the uncertainties she had about her writing. I have learned about her bereavements, her illness and her relationships. I know that she was highly educated, widely travelled, wealthy and abused.

I have learned about her friends, the Bloomsberries, and what they did. I know a bit about abstract art, famous novels and the Dictionary of National Biography. My learning has got me well and truly side-tracked until I now know snippets about Tennyson and the Freshwater Circle, and about the photographer Julia Margaret Cameron. My blog has also led me to consider Ophelia and Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf. I can also say that I even know about her car and about the food that she ate and the servants that she had.

But, I have a long way to go. There are many many unread novels and non fiction; essays and diaries. I need to consider Modernism and Feminism, Victorian etiquette, the Omega workshops, events of the time and more places of interest and who knows where else my learning will take me.

Thank you very much for reading.

 

5 thoughts on “An update on my progress

  1. I love your blog and its rich variation in content. Keep up the great work and i look forward to the next part of the mandrillandmongoose story(and recipe).

    Like

  2. I think your blog is amazing. Love the photos in your last post. Having always had an interest in Virginia, you are saving me a lot of hard work and time with your wonderful research. Wasn’t Virginia a classical girl who studied Latin and Greek in adulthood? Do you know why she did this? Also, with a keen interest in the woman question, I would be thrilled if you could research Virginia’s feminist views and activities. Keep on blogging.

    Like

  3. I really enjoy your blog. I love all things Bloomsbury, not just Virginia. Do you know much about her friends, Lytton Strachey, Dora Carrington, Ottoline Morrell. They are some of my favourites, too, just for their interesting lives.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment. You will find something there already about Lytton Strachey but I will be writing about Dora and Ottoline shortly. I am glad you enjoy my blog. I look forward to your posts too. Keep blogging!

      Like

Leave a Reply

